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Don’t let bad decisions 

ruin your life.
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The Effects of Alcohol, Medication and Illegal Drugs
One of the toughest things a law enforcement officer will ever have 
to do is to inform someone that their loved one was killed in a vehicle 
crash, especially since car crashes are avoidable, specifically those 
crashes that involve impaired drivers. MoDOT’s Highway Safety Office 
(HSO) has partnered through the years with other state agencies, 
state universities, and law enforcement offices across the state to 
battle impaired driving on our roadways. 

When it comes to making the right decision about safety, and the 
safety of others on the road, there is only one decision, don’t drive 
impaired. When thinking about impairment, the natural tendency 
is to associate only alcohol; however, impairment can happen with 
drugs as well. Currently, Missouri has medical marijuana to contend 
with, which was passed in 2018, and now adult use marijuana, which 
passed in 2022, both of which will most certainly correlate to an 
increase in the number of impaired drivers on Missouri roadways. 

These drugs could be both legal and illegal, prescription medications, 
and over-the-counter medications. Alcohol and drug impairment can 
slow reaction times and result in cognitive issues while driving. 

WAYS TO COMBAT 
IMPAIRED DRIVING:

	� Promote Responsible 
Alcohol Service

	� Promote Transportation 
Alternatives

	� Conduct Community 
Based Programs

	� Ignition Interlock Devices
	� Drug Treatment Courts
	� Drug Recognition Experts 

(DREs)
	� Law Enforcement 

Phlebotomists (LEPs)
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Consuming alcohol, in conjunction with drugs, even in 
small amounts, compounds the effects of impairment.

Consequences
When driving, it is important to remember the consequences of your 
actions, other people can be harmed or killed as a direct result of your 
bad judgment.

If caught driving while impaired by alcohol or drugs, your license can 
and will be revoked.

DWI is not only illegal but is a criminal offense. Each year, over 5,000 
people are killed or injured on Missouri Roads and highways in 
impairment-related crashes. Offenders won’t just get a ticket – they can 
be incarcerated, lose their license and pay significant fines and legal 
expenses. Here are some of the consequences if convicted of DWI: 

First offense (or first offense in over five years), the license will be 
revoked for 30 days followed by a 60-day suspension and can be 
sentenced to up to 6 months in jail and fined up to $1,000.

Second offense, could be fined $2,000, sentenced to up to a year in 
jail and a year-long revocation of the license. The offender will also be 
required to install a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID) on 
their vehicle, preventing their car from starting when they have alcohol 
on their breath. Ignition interlock systems cost an average of $800 a 
year, plus installation costs.

A third and subsequent offender can be deemed an aggravated 
offender and face increasing penalties for each conviction. Multiple 
convictions, such as this, may mean prison terms of up to fifteen (15) 
years and fines up to $10,000.



3

If they cause a fatal crash while intoxicated, they could be charged with 
DWI causing a death, which is a Class C felony and carries a penalty of 3 
to 10 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.

Driving with your BAC above the legal limit.
If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is above the legal limit, you’re 
legally intoxicated. If you are stopped under suspicion of DWI, you may 
be asked to take a breath alcohol test. The result of a breath alcohol 
test alone is evidence for a DWI conviction. In Missouri, refusal to take a 
breath alcohol test can result in immediate loss of your driver’s license.

Ignition Interlock
A Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device is a breath testing device, 
including all parts necessary for operation, e.g., handset and camera, 
installed in a vehicle that prevents it from operating if the breath test 
registers a breath alcohol concentration that meets or exceeds the 
alcohol set point. The device also requires the driver to continue to pass 
repeated breath tests while the vehicle is running to ensure that the 
driver remains below the alcohol set point. However, the interlock device 
will not interfere with the normal operation of the vehicle while it’s in use.

Missouri law requires any person guilty of a second or subsequent 
intoxication-related traffic offense to install an ignition interlock device on 
any vehicle they operate before reinstating driving privileges.

Each ignition interlock provider is responsible for reporting ignition 
interlock compliance to the Department of Revenue and/or the court-
ordered supervising authority. The approximate cost to an offender for 
an ignition interlock is $900 per 6 month term, which could be higher if a 
camera requirement is ordered.

To view the Administrative Rules which establish the standards for the 
Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device Certification and Operational 
Requirements visit https://www.sos.mo.gov/CMSImages/AdRules/csr/
current/7csr/7c60-2.pdf.

Individuals should not drive until the effects of the 
impairing substance are no longer felt.
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One and you’re done.
Even though it may be legal to drive after one drink, that doesn’t 
mean you should. Even one drink influences your mind and your body. 
Experience cannot compensate for a lack of motor skills or impaired 
judgment. Since you may not realize this until you are behind the 
wheel, it is not safe to drive after consuming any amount of alcohol.

GDL Special Considerations
Missouri has a Graduated Driver License (GDL) law to help new 
drivers develop their driving skills safely. The program consists of three 
stages: the instruction permit stage, the intermediate license stage, 
and the full driver’s license stage. Missouri has a “Zero Tolerance Law,” 
which means that any driver under the age of 21 who is found to have 
a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.02% or higher can face legal 
consequences, including license suspension, fines, jail time, mandatory 
substance abuse programs, and criminal charges.

Instruction Permit Stage: Starting at age 15, you can apply for an 
instruction permit. Breaking the Zero Tolerance Law at this stage 
can result in your permit and driving privileges being suspended or 
revoked. Your parents may also receive criminal charges. You cannot 
graduate to an intermediate license if you have any alcohol-related 
convictions within the last 12 months.

Intermediate License Stage: After holding an instruction permit 
for at least 182 days and reaching the age of 16. Driving under the 
influence of alcohol or drugs is prohibited for underage drivers with 
an intermediate license. Breaking the Zero Tolerance Law at this stage 
can lead to license suspension, fines, time in jail, mandatory alcohol 
education programs, and criminal charges for you or your parents. 
You cannot get your full driver’s license if you have any alcohol-related 
convictions within the last 12 months.

Full Driver License Stage: At the age of 18, drivers who have 
successfully completed the instruction permit and intermediate license 
stages can apply for a full driver’s license in Missouri. At this stage, 
underage drivers are still prohibited from driving under the influence 
of alcohol and drugs. The consequences for breaking the Zero 
Tolerance Law at this stage can lead to severe consequences including 
penalties on your driver’s license, license suspension, fines, jail time, 
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mandatory alcohol education programs, and criminal charges. If you 
are convicted of multiple alcohol-related offenses, you can lose your 
driver’s license for up to 10 years or more.

Minor In Possession Considerations
Missouri law prohibits any person under the age of 21 from 
purchasing or attempting to purchase or having in his or her 
possession any intoxicating liquor. Being visibly intoxicated or a 
having a detectable blood alcohol concentration of .02 or more is 
also prohibited, even if no alcohol container is present. The first 
violation is a class D misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to 
$500. A second or subsequent offense is a class A misdemeanor, 
punishable by up to one year in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,000. If 
the person is under the age of 18, his or her driver’s license may also 
be suspended for 90 days.

A person under 21 who purchases or attempts to purchase 
intoxicating liquor, who has intoxicating liquor in his or her 
possession, or who is visibly intoxicated is deemed to have given 
consent to a chemical test to determine his or her blood alcohol 
concentration.

CDL Special Considerations
A Commercial Drivers License (CDL) is not a standard driver’s 
license but is a specialized license to operate commercial motor 
vehicles (CMV). As a CDL holder, there are special laws and 
regulations in order to retain the privilege. These conditions are more 
stringent than those placed on a person with a standard driver’s 
license. 

Pursuant to 49 CFR Part 382, no driver shall perform safety-sensitive 
functions, including driving a CMV, if the driver has engaged in the 
following conduct:

	� report to duty with an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or 
greater; 

	� consume alcohol while on duty; or
	� has consumed alcohol in the prior four (4) hours
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No employer shall permit any CDL holder to perform safety-sensitive 
functions, including driving a CMV, if the employer has determined 
that the driver has violated any of the above.

Holders of a Commercial License Permit (CLP) or CDL (including 
individuals required to have a CLP or CDL) are subject to 
disqualification sanctions if the holder drives a CMV or non-CMV 
(including their personal vehicle) and is convicted of alcohol or 
controlled substance violations. 

For example, if a driver is operating any motor vehicle and is 
convicted of being under the influence of alcohol or a controlled 
substance:

	� for a first conviction or refusal to be tested, the person must 
be disqualified from operating a CMV for 1 year

	� for a first conviction or refusal to be tested while operating 
a CMV transporting hazardous materials required to be 
placarded, the person must be disqualified from operating a 
CMV for 3 years

	� for a second conviction or refusal to be tested while operating 
a CMV or non-CMV, the person must be disqualified from 
operating a CMV for Life

These more stringent rules are put in place to prevent incidents and 
injuries resulting from the misuse of alcohol or use of controlled 
substances by drivers of CMVs.

DID YOU KNOW?

It is a Federal offense to have any alcoholic 
beverage in the cab, sleeper, or anywhere else 

in a CMV, except as part of a manifested load in 
the trailer. Not even a passenger can possess 

alcohol in a CMV!



This booklet paid for with federal highway safety funding 
by the Missouri Department of Transportation.

Resources:
Alcoholics Anonymous (AA): www.aa.org

Department of Revenue (DOR): www.dor.mo.gov

Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD): www.madd.org

Narcotics Anonymous (NA): www.na.org

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 
Administration: https://findtreatment.samhsa.gov/

Substance Awareness Traffic Offenders’ Program 
(SATOP): www.dmh.mo.gov/behavioral-health/satop

Office of State Courts Administrator (OSCA) – DWI 
Treatment Courts: www.courts.mo.gov

MO Rides: www.morides.org


