# **Always Remember**

## Give driving your full attention

Distracted drivers are more likely to be involved in a traffic crash. You can be distracted by anything that takes your attention away from the task of driving.

### Some tips:

- Pull off of the road to find a safe place to talk on the cell phone or look for items in the vehicle.
- Make music selections or program radio stations before you get on the road.
- Do not put on makeup, read or eat while driving.
- Keep conversations with your passengers to a minimum.
- Plan your trip and use your GPS before you get on the road.

### Wear your safety belt

Missouri's Graduated Driver's License Law requires all drivers holding a permit or an intermediate license – and all passengers – to wear a safety belt at all times when operating a motor vehicle. If you're driving, never pack more people into the car than there are safety belts to restrain them.

# Don't drive drowsy

In the U.S., drivers between the ages of 16 and 24 account for approximately 50 percent of the drowsy driving crashes. Drowsy driving crashes are just as fatal as both distracted and drunk driving.

Best ways to avoid drowsy driving:

- Maintain a consistent sleep schedule obtaining nine to 10 hours of sleep.
- Stop driving and call a ride.
- Consume at least 200mg of caffeine and then take a 20-30 minute nap before resuming driving.



**#BUPD** 

Two things that can SAVE YOUR LIFE

Missouri Department of Transportation P.O. Box 270 Jefferson City, MO 65102

573-751-4161 800-800-BELT

www.saveMOlives.com www.modot.org

This brochure paid for with federal highway safety funding by the Missouri Department of Transportation.

S18.094



**Strategies for Young Drivers** 

# **Rules of the Road**

Traffic crashes are the leading cause of death for people 15 to 20 years old.

Some of the leading causes of death in these crashes are:

- Exceeding the speed
- Inattention
- Improper lane usage
- Impaired driving
- Nonuse of safety belts

#### **Don't Drink and Drive**

Underage drinking is against the law. It is illegal for anyone under 21 to purchase, possess or consume ANY amount of alcohol in ANY situation. Under Missouri's Zero Tolerance Law, your license will be suspended if you're caught driving with even a trace of alcohol in your system - that means less than one drink can put you over the limit.



# Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety

- Don't cut off large trucks or busses.
   Make sure you can see the cab lights in your rearview mirror before moving back into your original lane.
- following distance.
  Keep a safety
  cushion around
  trucks. Can you
  see the truck's
  side mirrors? If not,
  the driver cannot
  see you.



# Lane usage and turns

Many traffic crashes occur because people do not stay on their side of the roadway or they incorrectly make turns.

- Make sure you are in a legal passing zone before passing another vehicle. It is illegal to pass on the right or the shoulder of the roadway.
- Use turn signals about 100 feet before the turn or intersection and when changing lanes.
- Do not pass on hills, curves or at intersections.

# Obey the speed limit

Speeding is a major cause of traffic crashes. You should always obey the posted speed limit. More drivers are convicted of speeding than any other offense.

- Always drive at a safe speed. The speed limit is the maximum speed allowed under normal conditions.
- Slow down when approaching curves, intersections, downhill grades, heavy traffic and work zones.

# Bad weather brings extra driving dangers. In bad weather, remember to:

- Turn on your headlights. Headlights aren't just to help you see, they help other drivers see you. Missouri law requires the use of headlights anytime the weather conditions require the use of windshield wipers.
- Double the distance you normally leave between you and the next car. You'll need more space to stop suddenly on slick roads.
- Don't use cruise control when driving in wet or snowy conditions.