## Outofkics



Car crashes are the No. 1 killer of children. Nearly 73 percent of all child restraints are not used correctly.





For more information contact the Missouri Department of Transportation's Highway Safety and Traffic Division at 800-800-BELT (2358) or go to www.modot.org.

This brochure was paid for with highway safety funding by the Missouri Department of Transportation.



HS11.097 8.18

## Play by the Rules

MISSOURI'S CHILD RESTRAINT LAW

RSMo 307.179

Always check the owner's manual for proper use of your child safety seat or booster seat. To verify that your child safety seat has been installed correctly, you can visit www.savemolives.com to search for a certified Child Passenger Safety technician nearest you.

are at risk in a

traffic crash!

## **Growing Up Safe**

The National
Highway Traffic
Safety Administration
recommends keeping
your child in a rearfacing car seat until
they reach the highest
weight or height
allowed by the car
seat manufacturer.

Lap and shoulder safety belts

Children 8 and over or weighing at least 80 pounds or at least 4'9" tall are required to be secured by a safety belt or booster seat appropriate for that child.



Booster seats with lap and shoulder belt

Children ages 4 through 7 who weigh at least 40 pounds must be in an appropriate child safety seat or booster seat unless they are 80 pounds or 4'9" tall.



Child safety seats

Children less than 4 years old or less than 40 pounds must be in an appropriate child safety seat, per manufacturer's instructions of the child restraint.







As of August 28, 2006, Missouri law requires all children under the age of eight to be in an appropriate child safety seat or booster seat unless they are 80 lbs. or 4'9" tall.