
Missouri
Graduated Driver License Law

Missouri Graduated Driver License, or GDL law, is a three-
step licensing system and the most effective tool in reducing             
teen crashes.
Some of the highest driving risk factors for teens include driving at 
night, with multiple passengers, distracted and unbelted.

Here’s what you should know.

AGE 15 GDL STEP ONE
INSTRUCTION PERMIT

ELIGIBILITY
•	 Pass vision, road sign 

and written test
•	 Driving privilege 

cannot be 
suspended, revoked, 
cancelled or denied

•	 Must submit test to 
MO license office to 
obtain instruction 
permit - test form 
alone is not a          
valid permit

RULES AND RESTRICTIONS
•	 Practice at least six months or 182 

days with a qualified person
•	 Under age 16, teen may drive when 

accompanied in front seat by 
qualified person at least 25 years 
of age

•	 At age 16, teen may drive when 
accompanied in front seat by 
qualified person at least 21 years   
of age

•	 Log MINIMUM of 40 hours of 
supervised practice driving, 10 of 
those hours at night

•	 Everyone in the vehicle must wear 
a safety belt

AGE 16 GDL STEP TWO
INTERMEDIATE LICENSE

ELIGIBILITY
•	 Pass vision, road sign 

and driving test
•	 Hold instruction 

permit for minimum 
of six months or     
182 days

•	 Driving privilege 
cannot have been 
suspended, revoked 
or denied

•	 No alcohol 
convictions in last      
12 months

•	 No traffic convictions 
in last six months

RULES AND RESTRICTIONS
•	 During the first six months, may not 

transport more than one passenger 
under 19 years of age who is not a 
member of your immediate family

•	 After the first six months, may 
not transport more than three 
passengers who are under 19 years 
of age and not members of your 
immediate family

•	 Restricted driving between 
1:00-5:00 a.m. except to and from 
a school activity, job or for an 
emergency, unless accompanied 
by a licensed driver 21 years of age

•	 Everyone in the vehicle must wear 
a safety belt
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AGE 18 
(or within 30 days 
before 18th birthday if       
otherwise eligible)

GDL STEP THREE 
UNDER 21
FULL LICENSURE

ELIGIBILITY
•	 Possess valid 

intermediate license
•	 Pass vision and road 

sign recognition tests
•	 No alcohol enforcement 

contacts or traffic 
convictions within last 
12 months

•	 Driving privilege cannot 
be suspended, revoked, 
cancelled or denied

RULES AND RESTRICTIONS
•	 No restrictions

LAWS FOR DRIVERS UNDER 21
APPLIES TO ALL STEPS OF GDL

•	 Missouri law prohibits drivers 21 years of age and younger 
from sending, reading or writing an electronic message while 
behind the wheel, including when stopped in traffic. The fine 
for texting while driving is $200. Two points will be assessed on 
the driving record for each conviction.

•	 Missouri has a zero alcohol and zero drug tolerance law. Zero 
tolerance in Missouri means anyone under 21 driving with 
a BAC of .02 percent or higher will have his or her license 
suspended for 90 days.

The Missouri GDL law is the minimum, not maximum standard. 
The goal should be to exceed what is in Missouri’s law to keep 
your teen safe during his or her most dangerous driving years.
FIVE CRITICAL GDL STEPS THAT NEED TO BE ENFORCED
1.	 Increase practice driving hours.

Forty hours of driving practice is the minimum with at least 10 
hours occurring at night, but 100 hours is better.

2.	 Limit nighttime driving.
Your teen may NOT drive alone between 1:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m.

3.	 Limit passengers.
Only transport one passenger during first six months of 
independent driving.

4.	 Enforce safety belt use.
Ensure the driver and all passengers wear safety belts.

5.	 Create and enforce a Parent-Teen Driving Agreement.
Parents and teens work together to establish safe driving rules 
and the consequences for breaking the rules.
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